Some Face-to-Face Networking Tips (of Unknown Value)

With the annual meetings of the International Studies Association and Midwest Political Science Association looming I thought I would share some “how to chat people up” links I ran across recently.  I hasten to add, I offer these with a healthy caveat emptor as I “chat people up” miserably, and am pretty content with that state of affairs.  So this is not “I tried these things and they worked.” but instead, “I have no clue how to chat people up, but I happened upon some posts that claim to have useful advice, so I am passing it along.”

More specifically, Barking up the Wrong Tree has three posts that contain advice culled from a variety of sources.[1]

Six Conversational Hacks

Tips for Mastering Conversation Skills

Networking Tips for Shy People

In addition, you might find this post on conference do’s and dont’s, helpful.  And those who are on the organizing side of things might find value in this post on how to enhance networking opportunities.[2]

@WilHMoo

[1]  I am not a fan of the “N Tips for Becoming Awesome!” presentation style, but that’s beside the point.

[2] Relatedly, Masayuki Kudamatsu, an economist at Stockholm University, has a slew of links to papers / posts containing academic career advice on a host of topics

About Will H. Moore

I am a political science professor who also contributes to Political Violence @ a Glance and sometimes to Mobilizing Ideas . Twitter: @WilHMoo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

