Reconstruction of Removed Post

If you are interested in the original post, try searching at:

Internet Archive: Wayback Machine

About Will H. Moore

I am a political science professor who also contributes to Political Violence @ a Glance and sometimes to Mobilizing Ideas . Twitter: @WilHMoo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reconstruction of Removed Post

  1. Pingback: Dustup at the Duck: Cached Post | Will Opines

  2. Pingback: Some Dimensions over which the Return to Networking is not Uniform | Will Opines

  3. Sam Nichols says:

    You’ve linked to Rathburn’s explanation for why he removed the post, but I’m interested to hear your explanation for why you’ve re-posted it.

  4. Will H. Moore says:

    The Way Back Machine did not archive it, and to fix the broken links to my previous posts I had to reconstruct it.

    • Sam Nichols says:

      I guess I was thinking big-picture about things that are published on the internet. I thought you had re-posted it for a principled reason, which led to my question.

      Rathburn seemed to realize that the post was offensive to many and would be harmful, even in a small way, to his reputation, so he took it down. He’s undeniably accountable for his thoughts because he made them public by publishing them on the web, and even with his post deleted, it is able to be retrieved. In some way he distanced himself from his post by deleting it, but he’s also forever tied to the post, and all other posts, because they’re published and stored. I tend to think less seriously about blogging and tweeting than writing more formally for other publications; however, both make your thoughts and ideas public. And in many ways, there is more broad and immediate accountability for what is published on the web.

      • Will H. Moore says:

        You may well be aware of a host I am unaware of: I was contacted today by folks letting me know that the link to my previous two posts were “broken” (it turns out that the Google cached version of the page, to which I had linked, no longer hosts the page). So to the best of my knowledge the only way to fix those links was to reconstruct the post.

  5. Pingback: DrTdaxp » Who wants to live in the ghetto?

Leave a Reply

