Some Rhetorical Questions given the Full-Year Continuing Resolution of 2013

Now that the US Congress has passed, and President Obama will sign, the Full-Year Continuing Resolution of 2013, which contains the Coburn Amendment, prohibiting the Political Science program at the National Science Foundation from spending its money, I have a couple of questions.

1. Do I complete, and submit, the review I have due to NSF’s Political Science program that I put on my To Do list for this weekend?

2. Do I write NSF and ask them to move the proposal I submitted in January of this year from  Political Science to the Sociology program for consideration?

About Will H. Moore

I am a political science professor who also contributes to Political Violence @ a Glance and sometimes to Mobilizing Ideas . Twitter: @WilHMoo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Rhetorical Questions given the Full-Year Continuing Resolution of 2013

  1. Prison Rodeo says:

    Yes, and no, I think. Pretty sure all that is FY2012.

  2. Mike Ward says:

    Dude, ask the Program officers. That’s what they are there for.

  3. Mike Tierney says:

    I have no inside information, but I would say that reviewers and panels are likely to be encouraged to continue doing their jobs as if the money will be there. Two reasons to do this. First, the head of the NSF can assert that all the successful peer reviewed proposals do meet the criteria outlined in the CR. Second, the CR is only operative for less than a year, hopefully much less. PS division should go forward as if they were going to provide support for basic scientific research. Then if it does get cut we have “damages.” Anyway, I am proceding as if everything is normal, even though it is not. On your second question, there is no reason not to ask that some other divisions of NSF also consider your proposal. I do this anyway. Perhaps there are some political science proposals that could not fit Sociology, Economics, or some other division, but most likely have some spillover anyway.

Leave a Reply

