Addendum: Best Papers I have Read of Late

Yesterday I posted about the best papers I have read lately.  Today morning it occurs to me that I sort of left one out:

Thomas E. Flores & Irfan Nooruddin. 2012. “The Broken Link Between Elections and Democratization (and How to Fix It).” Working Paper <email them for a copy?>

I say sort of because I don’t believe the paper yet exists: I saw Nooruddin present the project last fall, and the paper may still be nascent.  Pester them if you’d like to see it.

Steve Saideman tweeted that a recent paper by Walt & Mearsheimer was conspicuously missing from my list.

Walt, Stephen, and John J. Mearsheimer. “Leaving Theory Behind: Why Hypothesis Testing Has Become Bad for IR.” HKS Faculty Research Working Paper Series RWP13-001, January 2013. <http://web.hks.harvard.edu/publications/workingpapers/citation.aspx?PubId=8723>

Indeed!  I do not waste my time reading nonsense.  If you are inclined to waste your time, you can find their ill-informed opinion masking as scholarship here, or you could read Saideman’s views of it, or those of Phil Schrodt.

About Will H. Moore

I am a political science professor who also contributes to Political Violence @ a Glance and sometimes to Mobilizing Ideas . Twitter: @WilHMoo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

